Janet Martin  Attorney at Law - Orange County Franchise Lawyer
Quality Product, Fast Turnaround, Fair Price! Over 20 Years of Experience in Franchise Law Services For Franchisors Business And Legal Issues For Franchisees
swappable image

Franchise Registration States

These States require you to register your Franchise Disclosure Documents and apply for approval and pay an initial fee, prior to offering or selling franchises in the state. (State fees listed are subject to change).

CALIFORNIA $675

HAWAII $125

ILLINOIS $500

INDIANA $500

MARYLAND $500

MICHIGAN $250

MINNESOTA $400

NORTH DAKOTA $250

NEW YORK $750

RHODE ISLAND $500

SOUTH DAKOTA $ 250

VIRGINIA $500

WASHINGTON (STATE) $600

WISCONSIN $400


Filing States

The following states require the Franchisor to file a notice and pay a fee, but the Franchisor need not submit the Franchise Disclosure Document and seek approval to sell Franchises. The Franchisor however must still use a proper Franchise Disclosure Document compliant with the FTC in order to offer and sell franchises in these states.


Connecticut $400

Florida $100 (annually)

Kentucky $0

Maine $25

Nebraska $100

North Carolina $250 (annually) NC disclosures required to be submitted

South Carolina $100 (annually)

Texas $25

Utah $100

Click Here to Review Articles by Janet Martin on Important Franchise Law Issues